Let’s Go Do Blog Hop!

Good morning, Everyone!

I know what you’re thinking: ‘Joe, it’s a Monday! Why are you posting on a Monday?’

Surprise, it’s a blog hop! I was honored by the invitation to join in on the exponential fun by Rati Mehrotra, a Science Fiction & Fantasy Author and all around awesome woman. If you don’t follow her blog, I highly recommend jumping over to her site and checking it out.

Now down to brass tax.

What am I working on?

That’s a great question! I’m currently working on a new book called The Hunting Sticks. It’s a dark fantasy mixed with a good dose of horror, add a dash of mystery, a tablespoon of science fiction, and bake for some randomly appointed amount of time. If you’re really curious, you can click HERE and check out a sneak preview. I’m a big fan of mixing genres and sub-genres, basically using whatever tools I have in the box to tell the story the way it feels it needs to be told.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

This is a tough question for me, it almost makes me want to curl up beneath my blanket and pretend it’s not here… But I cannot. I guess I would have to say my work is different because, well, it’s mine. I do understand that that answer sounds like a cop-out, but I don’t mean it to be. I have a strange thought process, my brain exists in a place my friends call “the One Foot Wall.” They say there’s a line that marks normal, and if you cross that line and get lost you eventually find another line that you believe to be the line of normal; but it’s a trick, it’s the One-Foot wall and you can’t go back from there. Okay, now that I re-read that last line it seems like I might be a little off my rocker. Maybe that’s true. But that’s part of the odd way I approach writing that makes it uniquely my own.

Why do I write what I do?

It may sound strange, but I write what I do because no one else will. When I was just a wee lad, no taller than the knee of a grasshopper or something (I’m not really sure what height has to do with knees) I was told that ‘you should write the story you want to read.’ That stuck with me, and so I do write the stories I would like to read. I’m just happy other folks enjoy them too. 🙂

How does your writing process work?

I am a punster, as they say. I plan very little when I write. I always go into a project with a strong idea of what will happen, however I have a difficult time starting without a title. Once I have a title for the work, whether short fiction or long, I throw myself to the mercy of the keyboard and write like a madman. For an even closer look at my process, click HERE.

And now for the next dance step in this blog hop! Next week on Monday the 17th of February, two wonderful folks will answer the above questions and give you a bit of insight to what they’re working on and how they go about it. Even though their slick moves won’t happen till next Monday, doesn’t mean you can’t click over to their sites now and enjoy what they do. In fact, I encourage you to do so! 🙂

Special note to the folks below- Tag, you’re it!

Jessica P. West, or just Jess, hangs out at all kinds of social media sites, especially Twitter @West1Jess. She’s a southern gal with three perfect daughters, a patient husband, and a big voice. There’s nothing she won’t read, so it’s no surprise there’s nothing she won’t write, or at least try to. A popular question that authors answer in various ways is, “When did you decide to become a writer.” She never made that decision. For her, it was a realization that came to her when she enrolled in Beginning Writer’s Workshop in April 2013. That somehow led to WordPress blogging, #MondayBlogs, #WriterWednesdays and #FollowFridays, and oh so many more fun writing thingies. Now that she’s found this community of wonderful folks, she can’t imagine doing anything else with the moments she manages to steal for herself. Feel free to drop in at her blog anytime. She doesn’t bite… much.

Linda Williams Stirling is a writer who enjoys working in, and reading from, multiple genres. She was born in Elmira, New York, during the last century. Linda’s life reflects her broad interests; studying English Literature at Roberts Wesleyan College, followed in later years with the study of law, and then Fine Arts and Painting. Her career has taken her from law to Non-Profit Organizations, and finally to the U.S. Department of State’s Foreign Service. She worked as a U.S. Diplomat at several overseas posts, in areas such as Southeast Asia, Central America, and the Middle East. Now retired, Linda happily devotes her time to her family, her dog, many hobbies, reading, and writing. She is currently hard at work on a suspenseful thriller novel, entitled “A Stranger Watches.”

Tune in tomorrow for the conclusion of Old Tom Cotton’s Boy. Feel free to comment below, or ask a question if you’ve got one. I’d love to hear from you! Thanks for stopping by and have a great week! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Let’s Go Do Blog Hop!

  1. Reblogged this on Linda Williams Stirling and commented:
    We’re doing a Blog Hop! You can join in now and read this weeks blogger, JDSFiction. Next Monday, I’ll be “it”. So come on back and read my answers to their questions and see which 3 bloggers will be following after me! Hope you have fun hopping through our blogs.
    Take care,
    Linda Williams Stirling

  2. Pingback: Let’s Go Do Blog Hop! |

  3. Pingback: The Writing Process Blog Hop | Andrew Toynbee's very own Blog

Leave a Reply

