New Adventures in WiFi! Self-Pub Style

Good Morning, Everyone!

Today is a great day. Yesterday I received the proof copy for my book, Beggars in the Streets of Time.  I was very pleased with the way everything worked out. And it got me thinking, when I started out on the path of self-publishing, I really had no idea what to expect. So I thought it would be fun to share my experience for those that may find themselves taking this road. I am no expert in this field, but perhaps what I learned can make it a bit easier for the next author.

After the writing is done, after the editing is done, after the final proof read of the manuscript is done, that’s when the work begins. First things first, I created my vendor accounts with NookPress, Kindle Direct Publishing, and Create Space. I thought: “Cool, now I just plug my MS into this thing and done! Right?” Not quite. I found that I needed specific formats for the e-book and the print versions. No big deal, this should be a piece of cake!

Not quite, hehe. Let’s start with the e-book. How the hell do I format an e-book? Google time. With luck I found a formatting program called Sigil. If you’re formatting an e-book I highly recommend this awesome program, and the best part is- it’s free to download and use! All you have to do is save or convert your MS into an HTML document and open it with Sigil. It automatically converts to an .epub file. The readme explained every step to creating a proper file type, no muss, no fuss. The .epub file that your book saves as in Sigil uploads easily into both Kindle Direct and NookPress! Follow the easy steps they provide and congratulations, it’s an e-book!

For print, the easiest thing is to check the information on Create Space in regards to trim size for your book. Trim size is the actual size of your book: 5×8, 6×9, etc. Listed with the trim size are the margin and page sizes required for the document. Open the word program you use, whatever you wrote your MS in, and click your File menu tab. Go into the page setup and adjust page size and margins to the specific requirements of the trim. Convert the file into a PDF. Then upload the PDF file of your MS into Create Space and follow the steps.

I spent just over a week on both the e-book and the print formats. It was tough at first, but now I’m confident in the ability to do it again. This is just my experience. Do you have any questions about the process? If so I’d be happy to answer them to the best of my knowledge. Drop me an email at: JDStirling451 at gmail dot com.

Do you have an adventure in self-publishing? Have you shared a similar experience with tricky formatting? I would love to hear from you guys. As always, comments are welcome and appreciated!

Have a great Tuesday, and thanks for stopping by!

Beggars in the Streets of Time will be available on September 9th for Kindle and in Print from Amazon, and on NOOK from Barnes & Noble.

P.S. Here’s a very happy me with my proof copies! 🙂

Joe and Book

20 thoughts on “New Adventures in WiFi! Self-Pub Style

  1. I am very happy for you and I hope everything turned out great. I have no adventures to share, I am yet to embark on the path,hence why I enjoyed reading so much, I had no idea about the formating!

    • Thank you! I was clueless when I started. At first, the format felt like a giant monster trying to eat me. Thankfully, after I did some research, it wasn’t so bad. And the Sigil program was awesome for the e-book format. I hope the post helps, and if you have any questions, ask away. 🙂

  2. So awesome! I think all authors should wear masks made from the covers of their books. Good advertising! I’ll call yours an author’s bandit mask. Congratulations Joe! Looks great on the Kindle too!

  3. Bravo, Joe its been a long time coming. Be sure to remind us when copies are available for sale. This will be the first paper book I’ve purchased in the years.

    I’m very happy all your hard work has paid off.

    • Thank you, David! 🙂 I guess I forgot to add that little detail in the post. A quick edit will fix that. Thanks for all your support (and dealing with my madness). And for the deadline-countdown-timer-of-doom! 🙂 Watching that clock tick away freaked me out a bit at first. But it set my resolve and reminded me to stay calm and get to work.

  4. Absolutely awesome, Joe! Congratulations on all your hard work paying off. It must be so exciting to see your blood, sweat, and tears turned into an actual book! Next time I’m in DC, I’ll be sure to go to the Library of Congress to ensure they really do have a copy of “Beggars” on their shelves!!!

  5. That’s great to hear, Joe. Congrats my friend. Awesome news indeed! Must feel good to have it finally done, huh! I will look forward to checking it out on Amazon!!! I’m afraid I don’t own a Nook or Kindle, though I’d use ’em if someone gave me one! I still have the 1st generation ipad (but I’m happy to have it and can read pdfs on it, of course). Did you have to get ISBNS for those two ebook formats and were they free, or? One thing that I’d like to see, is a way to get a master ISBN in addition to the individual ones for each edition (I know that doesn’t exist now) as it would give a more realistic view of how many copies you actually sell.

    For example, if you produce your book in 3 ebook formats and at CreateSpace and other locations, each edition (with some exception), will get their own ISBN. I understand why this is so, but if there was also a Master ISBN, then when you’ve really sold, say 1,000 copies of a book, it wouldn’t show just 5 on Amazon or wherever (if only 5 sold on Amazon so far). Anyway, I’m still in the research and planning stages for my anthology, so I’m very excited for you! Keep up the great work. Love the blog and am looking forward to reading Beggars in the Streets of Time!

    • Thanks, Bob! It’s been a hell of a road to get to this spot, but it feels great having it done. For the e-books, there’s no requirement for an ISBN. They assign an A SIN, which is like a digital equivalent, at no cost. Likewise, CreateSpace has the option to use their free ISBN, though you can use your own if you have one purchased for it.
      Thanks again, Bob! I’ve already started working out the first draft for my contribution to your Anthology project. I’m having a great time playing in your world so far! 🙂

  6. Congratulations on publishing your book!! I get excited just writing something and posting it to my blog. I can’t imagine how great it feels to publish, but your picture does give me a good idea. I’m so happy for you and I look forward to reading Beggars. Write on!

  7. Thanks for sharing your experience with us, Joe. I need to start researching the self-publishing route, so this is very helpful. Congratulations once again. What an achievement! I’m really looking forward to reading it….not long now 🙂

    • I can’t even describe how excited I am. 😀
      Thanks for the support, Bianca!

      If you have any questions about some of the self-pub stuff, I’m more than happy to share what I’ve learned so far.
      JDStirling451 [at] gmail [dot] com.

  8. Pingback: Bianca’s Weekly Wonder List 1.09.13 | B.G. Bowers

Leave a Reply

