Sneak Peek- Do What You Love!

BeggarsCover

Hello Thursday! I hope everyone is having a great week!

As I said on Tuesday, I’m excited. Everything shaping up and looking great for the release of my book, Beggars in the Streets of Time. This was a book that almost wasn’t to be. I originally wrote the first draft in 1999. I know, a long time ago. I was staying with a friend in Santa Barbara, California when all of the sudden this poem sprang from my brain womb. The poem was called (you guessed it) Beggars in the Streets of Time. My buddy read it and said it would make a great book.

Eight days later- boom! First draft. Then came a whole lot of shelf time and I wrote two other books and a bunch of poems and short stories, that also ended up shelved. Now life happens everyday. And life happened. For reasons that I’d rather not get into, I had to step away from writing for just over a decade. Then life told me, “Hey, dust off the typewriter and get to work, pal!” Thank you life!

Three weeks later I had the second draft of Beggars. It was cleaned and edited and given a pretty bow. Now, after more than ten years, it’s finished and going to print. September 9th is the big day!

The point I’d like to make to everyone reading is that it’s never too late. Every minute of every day is just another chance to turn it all around. Don’t give up. Life happens everyday, it’s true. But once you accept that and relax, it’s easier to just do what you love. No matter what you love to do, do it and be happy.

Big smiles all around! So, has anyone else had to step away from what they love doing? Did you return to it? If so, how great did it feel to get back to it? Enjoy and thanks for stopping by!

*     *     *     *     *

(From the back cover)

“You cannot win the game you have to play.”

Bailey doesn’t remember how he got to this strange land, but he feels at home amongst the Beggars in the Streets. But, more goes on in this strange place than first meets the eye. Along the Streets of Time, Beggars sell their sweet dreams for coin to live. While in the shadows, the Dream-Eater waits to consume their nightmares, and their very souls.

As life in the Streets spirals down, once again, to its horrific end, Bailey and his friends search desperately for a way to save their world. A way to stop the spreading plague of nightmares and ensuing deaths. A way to stop a madman. A way to stop the Bone Man.

Most important of all, they must find Blythe. If they can locate him, their greatest challenge awaits. How do they stop Blythe’s Game?

12 thoughts on “Sneak Peek- Do What You Love!

  1. Your story is so inspiring, Joe. Well
    done for returning to your true love & true purpose. I can relate. I too have returned to writing over the last 3 months. My novel has been marinating in my head for well over a decade, but I’ve only just started to focus on it over the last year. Like you say, life gets in the way etc. but, I am now pursuing a writing career, no matter what. It’s my gift, my purpose & my true love.

    Thanks for sharing your story & big congrats to you!! I wish you all the success in the world 🙂 can’t wait to read your book – it sounds intriguing x

    • I’m happy that you were able to get back to it. When you’re lucky enough to be doing what you love as a career, it never really feels like work. Happiness is the key to success, not the other way around. From what I’ve seen of your writing, you’ll do great! When your heart is in doing what you’re meant to do, it shows. The same way folks say you can see a smile in the eyes or hear a smile in someone’s voice, you can also read the smile in someones words.
      Thank you for the encouragement and wishes. They mean a lot! 🙂

    • The man of the hour! Thanks, T. And thanks for suggesting that the poem be something bigger. Beggars wouldn’t have been a book otherwise. 🙂 You have been an awesome supporter and a true friend, even when I was lost. Thank you.

  2. As amazing as this is I cannot say that I am surprised. You were destined! I’m just glad that destiny did not give up on you.

  3. Reblogged this on Linda Williams Stirling and commented:
    Just wanted to share a ‘heads up’ on a terrific book that will be released on September 9th. It will be available for Kindle and Nook, and in print at Amazon. I’ve had the opportunity to read this, and it’s a great story. I’d say it qualifies as a dark fantasy, but you’ve never read anything like this. A very unique and interesting tale that will have you mesmerized.

  4. Pingback: Bianca’s Weekly Wonder List 10.08.13 | B.G. Bowers

Leave a Reply

