Winner, Winner, Chicken Dinner

Good Morning, Everyone!

First things first, I’m not making chicken dinner. Sorry to disappoint. But in the words of Carlos Estevez (a.k.a. Charlie Sheen), “Winning.”

Yesterday, Monday the 29th, I successfully completed Camp NaNoWriMo. My word count is currently 53, 726! As much as I would like to say that the Science Fiction Novel is finished, I cannot. I still have to write about 2 or 3 more chapters to wrap everything up. And then comes the clean-up and editing.

I must admit, this first draft is ugly. I’m happy with the turns the story has taken. But it’s just ugly at the moment. In it’s first draft for the month long writing event, I have managed to string together random thoughts and tons of stream-of-consciousness prose. It’s a mess that needs to be revised obviously. I usually write a much cleaner first draft. Either way I’m stoked to have completed my first Camp NaNo!

By next year Distance From The Moon should be available. I can’t give any specific dates until the editing gets into full swing.

On another note, I’m proud to announce another exciting bit of writing news. QT Games has an upcoming Role-Playing Game, called Cosmothea; a multi-genre game setting. QT Games is releasing an Anthology collection of short stories based within the many worlds they have created. I am honored to join 5 (possibly 6) talented Authors in this project.

I would love to give you more info on what the story I’m writing is about, but I’m under contract. All I can say is that it’s going to be a blast! For those looking for more news about upcoming RPG, please feel free to check out Creator/ Designer Bob Whitely’s blog: Cosmothea, where he lays down the skinny on everything related to his game. Also you can stop by QT Games to find even more Cosmothea news.

I’ll keep everyone up to date on the Anthology project as I continue onward with Bob and QT Games. The closer the short story collection gets to publication, the more I’ll be able to share- including where the physical copies and ebooks will be available for purchase.

As always, I appreciate your comments. Have a great day, and thanks for stopping by!

26 thoughts on “Winner, Winner, Chicken Dinner

    • Thanks! I’m excited on both fronts. NaNo turned my brain to mush, and I’m happy to be working on a writing project with some great people. Thanks for the support!

    • Thank you! 🙂 It should be a fun book. I had fun despite the lack of sleep and the whole brain-turning-to-mush bit. I’ll update the progress on “Distance From The Moon” from time to time. Thanks for reading, Outlaw!

      • I’ll also update the progress of the Cosmothea Anthology. It’s exciting to be writing a short story for a collection with some talented Authors!

  1. Congratulations Joe! On finishing Camp Writetilyoudrop and on the assignment! That’s very exciting news! They are lucky to have you.

  2. Whoop, whoop, whoop!! (There’s some arm motions going along with that.) Congratulations on both counts! I’m looking forward to reading both books. Plus, I’m glad your life can get back to your version of normal. 😀

    • Thank you! It was an exciting month that’s for sure. Quite tiring between writing the book for Camp, working on a couple short stories, writing the Flash Fiction pieces, and trying to keep up on the blog. Plus the regular day to day. Whew! Appreciate the support. 🙂

    • Thanks, Rati! I’m happy to have your continued support and readership here on the blog. I’ll post updates from time to time on both projects. Thanks again! 🙂

    • Thank you! I’m pretty excited. It’s been tiring, but it’s still been a good month. 🙂
      I have a book coming out in September, and now I have a follow up to edit and get ready for release next year sometime. Feels pretty good. Thanks again, Bianca! 🙂

  3. That’s absolutely wonderful. I’m happy for you and can only imagine your excitement and feeling of pride. Personally, I can’t wait for the day when I finish my novel and finally get it out into the world. Well done, JD. Look forward to reading your book and following your journey 🙂

    • 🙂 I appreciate the support. Thank you so much! It’s exciting and a little scary at the same time.
      Likewise, I look forward to finding your book in the world. Is it going to be Danae? I’m really enjoying the story so far.

      • I do plan on publishing Danae – what you see now is a first draft. I’m posting it as I go because It’s the first story that I will actually complete.
        But, no, my novel is a work in progress….40k words or thereabouts. 🙂

      • That’s awesome! I wish you the best with it’s completion. I look forward to it, you’ve got a great style and narrative. Can’t wait to see more. 🙂
        The book I have coming out is only a novella, just shy of 34k.

      • “Only” a novella – lol – it’s a big achievement to be proud of. Thanks, JD, you give me something to strive for 🙂

      • Strive, thrive, and enjoy the jive makes you feel alive! Glad I can be of service, and thanks again for the mention on your blog! It means a lot and I really appreciate it. 🙂
        -Joe

Leave a Reply

